Main Menu
Home / IT Governance / Legacy Support / Types of Cloud Services As Defined by ITIL

Types of Cloud Services As Defined by ITIL

Cloud services have revolutionized the manner that IT and business thinks of service management and IT solutions. As Michael Scarborough explains, ITIL hasn't ignored the growth and usage of the cloud in IT. In fact, the updated service strategy book released in 2011 included descriptions of different types of cloud computing (as defined by ITIL), including Software as a Service (SaaS): The second type of cloud service is known as “Software as a Service”, or SaaS. In this type of cloud service, the service provider delivers use of some specific software or suite of software to the customer. The customer only pays for the amount of the service that they consume without having to install the software in-house. An example of this is the many service management tool suites which are available on a subscription basis as SaaS offerings. Scarborough goes on to list Platform as a Service, Infrastructure as a Service, and Individual services. ITIL (expectedly) will continue to expand the definition and best usage of the cloud in years to come, starting with these cloud services.

About Anne Grybowski

Anne is a former staff writer for CAI's Accelerating IT Success, with a degree in Media Studies from Penn State University.

Check Also

3 Tips for Renovating Outdated Enterprise Software

Jobs require knowledge workers nowadays. However, it is hard to maximize employee productivity when your …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *