Main Menu
Home / IT Governance / Legacy Support / Skills Framework for the Information Age

Skills Framework for the Information Age

Computer ManRos Satar presents the Skills Framework for the Information Age in this post — something that Satar became aware of at a itSMF regional seminar. SFIA for short, the Skills Framework for the Information Age is a seven level process where companies can use a shared language to describe a set of business skills and role responsibilities:

The progression through the levels of responsibility can be charted within disciplines (for example Project Management, starting with leading a single project and progressing to managing a number of projects, or managing project managers.
Training companies have started using SFIA to describe their training offerings, showing where the course is designed to provide which skill and which level.

Satar goes on to explains the benfits of having SFIA as a definition in the company. Everything from describing training offerings as above to creating ads for specific jobs, SFIA creates a common language for companies to identify what it needs and what job seekers can expect their potential jobs to entail. 

About Anne Grybowski

Anne is a former staff writer for CAI's Accelerating IT Success, with a degree in Media Studies from Penn State University.

Check Also

COBOL Is Still Around Because Nothing Better Has Replaced It

When COBOL was made in 1959, no one could have dreamed that it would outlive …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sorry, but this content
is for our subscribers only!

But subscribing to ACCELERATING IT SUCCESS is FREE and only one click away!
Join more than 40,000 IT Professionals and get the best IT management articles to your mailbox with Accelerating IT Success!

Unsubscribe at any time